Getting student to PLAY OUT!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Heavens2kadonka, Apr 25, 2005.

1. Heavens2kadonka

Heavens2kadonka Forte User

Jun 17, 2004
    Lebanon, TN
    Okay, I have been teaching this student for the past three months, and while I have seen improvement, I still have one big problem with him.

He plays like a sissy little girl playing with her dollies. :twisted:

Now, there have been upsides to this. For instance, his upper register is naturally much better than all my other students. In fact, he can squeal out a double G, a full whole step higher than my max range! :oops:

But I have always hated his meek sound. Always tends towards being flat due to the softness, as well.

I have been spending the past three weeks stuggling to get him to improve volume. Today, I think I may have stumbled onto something.

I had decided today that using straight mutes may help his playing, because when you're playing well and ringing the sound, the mute is almost impercieveable. I was having second thoughts though. Didnt think it would work all that well.

Was going through my case, getting the materials for the class ready, when I noticed I had a cup mute and a large cotton cloth inside. I suddenly remembered an old topic here about practice mutes.

It was an epithany moment. MY GOSH! This might work!

Put the cloth around the cup, and told the student to put it in. He was confused, of course. Pulled out Arban. The Art Of Phrasing. Picked a piece out, and he played.

He got aggravated. He couldn't hear himself!

"Well, if you blow enough air through the horn, you might!"

Started playing. Stopped him.

"Ring out the sound. It should be more like a sizzle due to the mute. A slight buzz in the sound. FILL UP!!!"

Yep, he started doing it. Managed to work out a full sound even with that stuff in the bell!

After about thirty minutes of this, got him to play without the mute.