Getzen Eterna flugelhorn slotting

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Vince, Apr 26, 2011.

1. Vince

Vince New Friend

Feb 22, 2009
    Newmarket, ON, Canada
    I just picked up a Getzen Eterna Flugel. Early "70's. I've never tried a flugelhorn before and hope someone could answer a couple questions regarding this instrument.
    I find that I love the tone and the valve action but feel that it is a bit more difficult to slot or lock on notes as my well as my trumpet does. Is this typical of a flugelhorn?
    I have pulled the second valve slide out and found the the valve alignment is off by at least 1/8". Could this be part of the problem I wonder.
    Also if someone could recomend a mouth piece that works well with this horn it would be appreciated. Nothing fancy just something to get started on. Presently using a deep cone mouthpiece without any markings on it that gives the tone and texture I like but find it to have too thin a rim or should I say too sharp a n edge contour.

Lastly I have found a bit of pitting on a couple of the valves that has eaten through the plating. Is this common with older Getzen horns?
    I guess I shouldn't pack too many questions into a single post so I'll stop here.
    Looking forward to your comments, thanks.

Vince

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    I find that I love the tone and the valve action but feel that it is a bit more difficult to slot or lock on notes as my well as my trumpet does. Is this typical of a flugelhorn?
    is typical for players not used to deep mouthpieces

I have pulled the second valve slide out and found the the valve alignment is off by at least 1/8". Could this be part of the problem I wonder.
    No, this is only old felts - a really cheap fix by any music tech!

Also if someone could recomend a mouth piece that works well with this horn it would be appreciated. Nothing fancy just something to get started on.