Ghitalla articulation approach

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by josephus07, Jun 26, 2007.

1. josephus07

josephus07 Pianissimo User

Feb 19, 2005
    Hi Mr. Hooten,

I was wondering if you could talk about how Ghitalla taught articulation.

Right now I'm studying with two people - one who studied with Ghitalla and advocates a "thyud" syllable (I guess that is the best way I can write it)

and one who studied with Cichowicz and when he has me do air patterns and hears the "thyud" syllable, tells me to just say "too."

Maybe they aren't mutually exclusive and maybe I'm not quite grasping the "thyud" articulation.

Your input would be greatly appreciate. Thanks!

2. thomashooten

thomashooten Pianissimo User

Feb 21, 2005
    Atlanta
    Hello,

Ghitalla used what he called "thick" or "anchor" tonguing. I remember him saying it like "thit" with the "th" sounding a little like a "D". He wanted me to anchor the front part of my tongue to my bottom teeth. The way I understood this was that "thit" helped keep a better tongue position than something with an "oo" or a "u".
    Hope this helps. Lets get some other input from former Ghitalla students on this.

Thanks
    Tom

3. josephus07

josephus07 Pianissimo User

Feb 19, 2005
    Thanks Mr. Hooten.

So, do you articulate in this manner (anchor tonguing)?

Thanks!

4. John P

John P Piano User

Jun 16, 2006
    Camp Hill, PA
    Interesting, is this at all similar to Claude Gordon's "K-tongue modified" technique?

5. thomashooten

thomashooten Pianissimo User

Feb 21, 2005
    Atlanta
    Let me clarify, "thit" is more like "thi". I only put the "t" on the end because that is the start of the next note. I would consider it a tool that is very appropriate for certain parts of the literature. It helps me get a little more width to the beginning of the note.
    Thanks
    Tom

6. John P

John P Piano User

Jun 16, 2006
    Camp Hill, PA