Ghitalla's teachings

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ilikethetrumpet, Oct 14, 2006.

1. ilikethetrumpet

ilikethetrumpet Pianissimo User

Sep 10, 2006
    Iowa City, Iowa
    I brought up some second-hand Ghitalla teachings in the EC forum awhile back, and a TMer, trumpettrax, PMd me asking if I would expound on his method. I'm wise enough to recognize, however, that I am not a Trumpet Master. I am a mere novice still grappling with a few issues of tone production, and what's more, I never studied with him directly, just from a couple of his former students.

In the context of my earlier post that mentioned him--how to start a student--I was referring to the embrochure efficiency that many of his students demonstrate: finding the optimal position of the lips that will allow for the greatest flexibility. I also have collected, here and there, photocopies of many expanding-interval exercises originating from his studio that are designed to test and facilitate efficient flexibility.

My reason for posting, however, is that I'm sure there are several former U of M, Rice, or Boston-area players on this board, and perhaps this thread could serve as a place that they could address some aspects or tenets of his pedagogy. I'd be eager to learn more as well. Thank!

2. TPT81

TPT81 New Friend

Apr 17, 2006
    It is hard to sum up Ghitalla's teaching in one post, so I won't even try. I studied with Ghitalla from the fall of 1999 to the time of his death in December of 2001. Ghitalla and I covered several things in those years, including a major embouchure change during my freshman year at Rice. Here are a couple of things we went over a lot.