Girl Trumpet Players

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TrumpetChicka1, Jan 9, 2007.

1. TrumpetChicka1

TrumpetChicka1 New Friend

Dec 27, 2006
    Littleton
    Hey ever since I started playing the trumpet I have always been pretty good, but it seems like the guys have an easier time with high notes then me. Does anyone have any tips.

2. Eclipsehornplayer

Eclipsehornplayer Forte User

Sep 14, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    Rest easy; we all struggle with "High Notes" it's not a girl or a boy thing!

I know pleanty of women that can play in ranges that I only dream about.

I'll give you the advice that was given to me by a women; my teacher by the way!

Start by playing scales and work your way up there. I take a C Major scale and walk right up it low C to middle C. Then I continue on up to High C and then take half steps over that to the extent of my high range wich is the D over High C for now.

To play in the upper register you need air moving very fast! I don't use air well; and I know that so I'm sure this is a limiting factor for me.

I continue to work on my range but I don't let it get to me too much. There are a fair amount of notes from Pedal "C" to D over high "C" which is my range; so for me my range works for 98% of anything that I would have an occasion to play.

Do some searches on this board for range and you'll see great comments from our board pros about this very subject.

Above all keep reaching! :-)

3. B15M

B15M Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Monroe Ct.
    When I was younger I took a lesson with a famous teacher. He told me that I was holding the trumpet wrong and further said, "The trumpet is a masculine instrument, hold it like a man"

That line stuck with me for a long time and influenced my thinking for a long time.

He was so wrong!!

4. TrumpetChicka1

TrumpetChicka1 New Friend

Dec 27, 2006
    Littleton
    Thanks for the help :cool:

5. FreshBrewed

FreshBrewed Mezzo Piano User

Nov 11, 2003
    Houston, TX