Glissando

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Joeobrown, Aug 18, 2011.

1. Joeobrown

Joeobrown New Friend

Aug 16, 2011
    Firstly, I'm a new member to this website, so I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place
    Also, I've only just a couple of days ago begun learning to play the thing properly, instead of just blowing down it and seeing what happens :)
    I do know a fair chunk of theory (I've been playing guitar for 3 years)
    I'm not a complete arse either, I know there are other threads about this, but I'm too much of a newbie to have any idea what they are on about...

OK, my question:
    Can you describe to me (in a way a complete newbie would understand) how to do a glissando? Both from note to note, and from note to a weird squeal noise?

I know being able to do it well is probably out of my reach for now, but I would like to know how it works... Is it just playing a chromatic run really quickly? Or just randomly squeezing your lips tighter an tighter?

Thanks for your help, if you do help me...
    :D

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Push the valves down half way at your stage of development. You are a long way from having enough chop strength and coordination to use the lips alone.

3. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land