Gone bad

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by dewie153, Dec 10, 2010.

1. dewie153

dewie153 New Friend

Nov 18, 2009
    New Mexico
    I have been playing trumpet for about 4 to 5 years now. Last year i changed my embouchure. It has been great up until now. I have been able to hit a High C without it cracking. A couple days ago I could barely hit a middle C. I don't know what went wrong. Any ideas? thank you

2. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Not a clue. You need to find a teacher who can look directly at what you are (or aren't) doing. There are a couple of members here who can do that over the internet if you have a decent webcam so they can see how you play.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Dewie,
    I personally do not buy this overnight desaster stuff. Unless you were in a car wreck, your body has been talking to you since birth. If we "ignore" that conversation, what can another player or teacher do?

YOU need to look at what has changed in your playing routine, your workplace, your family, your attitude. Then I am 100% sure that the problem will become obvious. The solution often can require outside help - but only with your positive attitude.

I'll give you a different example. This time of year, there are a lot of beggars on the street. They generally ask for money. Some of them have accordions, violins or the like. If I see that they are trying, I'll invite them for a meal. You would be surprised how many turn that offer down. They want cigarettes and alcohol.

With the trumpet, it is similar. We have those that try and those that ask to be spoon fed, those that blog nonsense just to increase their post count. When we offer information to help those that try, it is amazing how many come up with reasons why things don't work. My stand: if they know all of this stuff, why ask in the first place.