Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by terpprm, Jun 14, 2008.

1. terpprm

terpprm New Friend

Jun 14, 2008
    i just got my trumpet on Wednesday and i can't seem to get a tone, and when i do, it doesn't last long. i am a present pianist, organist, violinist and a former clarinetist, and from what i can tell, the tone that i am getting is an above middle c "a" and yes that is the proper note on the trumpet. i know about the difference in the instruments as i compose the music for our church orchestra. anyway, i was wondering if anyone has any advice for me? i just wanted to add that i want to kick its brass :-)

Last edited: Jun 14, 2008
  2. study888

study888 Mezzo Forte User

Aug 22, 2005
    Darlington S.C.
    Hello Terppm. If you can find a good trumpet player in your area, that is also looking to learn, one of the instuments you already know how to play. You both, could exchange each other free musicial lessons. If not, you will need to find you a Trumpet teacher. Trying to figure it out by yourself can cause damage to your embouchure,not counting all the wrong postures and bad playing habits that will be learned, and then have to be unlearned. you have already learned from your previous instruments. None are easy and require lots of practice. We all begin at the same start line. Your previous musicial skills will probably help you advance faster. But it still is not easy,because Trumpet playing is very Physical. Go to the STORK mouthpiece site and study the lips sizes chart for correct mouthpiece sizing. The correct size Bach mouthpiece would be a good start till your Teacher advices something else.Good Luck.

3. terpprm

terpprm New Friend

Jun 14, 2008
    thanks...i will look now......i appreciate. my girlfriend actually plays the trumpet and has for years. i will be getting with her soon, but right now she started a new schedule and the training schedule conflicts with mine, so i have to wait patiently? hmmmmm....i'll try. lol