Having braces for 4 years and finally getting them off.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Practice, Nov 21, 2011.

1. Practice

Practice New Friend

Aug 7, 2010
    Texas
    I've been having braces after the first year I've started playing trumpet, which was the 6th grade. Now I'm a sophomore in high school, 1st part in all my music. Been able to hit a solid high C and higher. But now since I've gotten my braces off it feels weird. It's like I'm back to being a 6th grader again but a little better D:
    I'm glad that its in the Thanksgiving holiday and i have time to practice, but I'm afraid that i won't be able to do well for my region music which is in 2 weeks. It's frustrating! :x

Anybody got anything that will help?

2. Mark_Kindy

Mark_Kindy Mezzo Forte User

Jul 11, 2010
    Gainesville, FL
    Having been there, done that:

You must be so very very patient with range after the braces come off. Focus on regaining a beautiful tone first, especially now that your lips are not as stretched. It will come back, and it won't take forever. Now is a good time to learn breath support as well. But TONE TONE TONE TONE TONE is your focus now that you don't have metal on BOTH sides of the lips. I'd say you can't expect to be as good as I know you want to be for that audition. But if you ARE patient, you will make gains far beyond any others.

On that note :D :
    Long tones, resting in between for as long as you played the tone. Begin the Clarke studies and Cichowicz (spelling?) flow studies is my suggestion. And now is the point where a private lessons teacher would help you make huge gains.

3. Practice

Practice New Friend

Aug 7, 2010
    Texas
    I have a private lesson teacher but her lessons are after school so i have to wait till next week :/
    I ca do long tones :D but i don't have a Clarke book. But i do have an Arban book

4. Mark_Kindy

Jul 11, 2010
    Gainesville, FL