Having endurance issues.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by nickpasternack, May 12, 2009.

1. nickpasternack

nickpasternack Pianissimo User

Aug 21, 2008
    Rochester, NY
    Hey everyone, i havent posted in a while, but i am having some issues that iwould like to get you're opinions on. The most serious of these is a lack of long term endurance. Thats the only way i can really explain it. I play mostly lead on the gigs that i play, and being a high school student, i obviously play in the concert band, orchestra and ensembles. I am fine for about an hour, and then i just go dead. I have been studying privately for several years, but due to economic issues, i told myparents i would be willing to go without my teacher for a few months so long as i dont lapse into any bad habits.

Basically I'll have my full range for an hour(give or take), and then just nothing. Most of my stuff is in the upper register of the horn, so i am wondering whether i should just go back to long tones? Arbans exercises? I will be seeing my teacher again soon, but again, i would just like the opinions of you all.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Nick,
    endurance comes from economy, not from brute force. For players REALLY devoted to lead playing, getting equipment that fits that sound concept, and letting go of "legit" playing practices are pretty vital.
    I would recommend swimming a couple of times a week to build "lung power".

As far as the routine goes, if you ever neglect the foundation (long tones and slurs) you will pay the price. Even although the "loud" upper register is your specialty, practicing in the stratosphere quietly builds endurance and power.

More than ever before, you must concentrate on the building process and avoid the "tear down" by beating yourself up. The gigs are critical and that is when your playing should peak. Do not push yourself too hard the day BEFORE an important gig.