Hello all

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Musician4077, May 23, 2005.

1. Musician4077

Musician4077 New Friend

May 23, 2005
    Essexville, MI
    Hey all,

let me introduce myself. I'm a high school sophomore (soon to be a junior!) and have been playing the trumpet for five years now. At my school, I'm lead trumpet in everything, and I've made a little reputation for myself. I'm also in all advanced courses. Now, I know it sounds like I'm tooting my own horn, pardon the pun, but it all leads up to my reason to post. I am planning on pursuing music for a career, and, like all other aspiring musicians, hope to attend Juilliard and land Principal chair in a big-ticket ensemble. In this world, however, I also know that while I'm top notch here at home, once I get out of my little bubble of a town, it's a big scary world out there. Does anyone have any advice for a hopeful orchestral trumpeter? I would appreciate anything you have to tell me. Thanks!

Jeff

2. silverstar

silverstar Mezzo Forte User

Jan 6, 2005
    Jeff,

All I can say is stick to your dream! Work as hard as you can, and learn as much as you can!
    Welcome, by the way!

As a mediocre soon-to-be senior (HS), that's all the advice I can offer!

Oh yeah, rest often. Don't kill your chops!

Lara

3. MahlerBrass

MahlerBrass Piano User

Oct 1, 2004
    Houston, TX