Hello

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by gid120, Feb 3, 2012.

1. gid120

gid120 New Friend

Jan 31, 2012
    Hello all I am new to this forum as to trumpet playing in general. I am still a beginner and learning the basics of trumpet playing, mainly buzzing and lip embouchure. However I am having difficulty in hitting the high register notes. AS I said I am still at a very early stage and still on the basic scale from the low C to the upper C. However I never seem to hit the upper A, B and C. I use a Bach 3C mouthpiece but was wondering whether there are other mouthpieces to aid higher notes. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks

2. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    As a beginner your high notes are well out of reach until you pay your dues in the practice room, developed your breathing technique, and established concrete basics within the stave. The mouthpiece you already have is almost perfect (some will say) for your purpose. Hard work is in your future - THERE ARE NO SHORTCUTS. Have fun but build from sound foundations (no pun intended).

3. gid120

gid120 New Friend

Jan 31, 2012
    Thanks peter for your input. I agree about hard work and try to practice as much as I can. I started learning as an adult and with two small kids at home time is at a premium. However what concerns me is that these are not exuberantly high notes, just the last three in a normal trumpet range. I also happen to have the unfortunate issue that I only produce buzzing from the side of the lips rather than the centre. According to a friend of mine who happens to be a professional player, this should not be an issue since he also plays on the side of his lips. however it gets frustrating when warming up not hitting these notes. I'll persevere and see how it goes.

Thanks again

4. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio