Help for the new guy...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ClassicalTrptMike, Jul 14, 2010.

1. ClassicalTrptMike

ClassicalTrptMike New Friend

Jul 14, 2010
    Hey Guys,

New to the TrumpetMaster community. Excited to do virtual life with you guys.

I'm having a pretty huge problem, and need some help. I've been playing trumpet for about 14 years now, and have had no problems up until now. Back in December of 2009 I had a really heavy performance schedule. Played lead in a musical a full weekend, played Bernstein's Mass for a full weekend + rehearsals, recitals, juries, all on top of my normal practice routine. Needless to say I was pretty beat. I took about a week off and after that did some light playing because I felt pretty fatigued and like I needed to rest. During some of the performance I started feeling really stiff in the upper register (G and up). At first it seemed random. Some days were fine, some days weren't so great. But after that it began to happen more frequent, to the point where now it feels like this everyday. My lower register is still fine. I can play relaxed with a good sound, but as soon as I start going up my lips feel really stiff and like they don't want to vibrate. Some have suggested that I'm cutting off the air, and others have said that I need to just relax. I've addressed those as much as I can and nothing seems to help. I'm getting really frustrated because I was working on a performance career, but now I feel like choosing something else.

Any one have any ideas? All suggestions are appreciated!

-Trumpet Mike

2. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    If you are working on a performance career, you should already know the value of a teacher. All of us who can't hear and see you play can only speculate and your career is too valuable for you to lean on us. Find a good chop doc - Jeanne Pocius or someone of her expertise, and consult them.