Help From the High Note Guys

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Buccaneer, Jul 22, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Buccaneer

Buccaneer New Friend

Nov 23, 2011
    Hello all!
    I am currently a high school student and have been playing trumpet for 8 years now and want to major on the instrument. I currently ran into an issue however... I am having problems expanding my range. I have been working out of various lip flexibility books, mostly Clarke's book. My range, unfortunatly, has not seen any improvements. One day I can play a strong G above high C and the next I can only get up to an Eb above high C. I need to get the G stronger and consistant. I usually spend about ten minutes every day on range and another minimum of an hour, usually an hour and a half, on other things. (Arbans, Jazz Conceptions etc.) My dad (who is also my band director :shock:) told me that "something just needs to click". I do not know what he means by this. I don't think it really matters but I use a Yamaha 14B4 mouthpiece for just about everything, however for marching band I use a Bobby Shew 1.5. I play on a Yamaha 6345G horn, which is a relatively large bore. I will do anything to improve my range, please help me out.
    Thank you in advance!
    -Eddie

Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  2. D.C. Al fine

D.C. Al fine Banned

May 8, 2012
    USA
    I dont see the problem. What is the problem? That you can get the G sometimes and the Eb others?

3. Buccaneer

Buccaneer New Friend

Nov 23, 2011
    Yes, that's the problem. I need the G consistently

4. D.C. Al fine

D.C. Al fine Banned

May 8, 2012
    USA
    Need? Please explain why you NEED a G. A Eb is just fine, that will cover Haydn. You might need the E for a jazz chart but really anything above is not used.

5. Buccaneer

Buccaneer New Friend

Nov 23, 2011