Help guys

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Lefty90, Nov 11, 2009.

1. Lefty90

Lefty90 New Friend

Oct 23, 2009
    Hey hows it going guys. I know this is my first post but I have been reading the forums for a while just never really tried to post anything because I myself am a new trumpet player. I am 18 years old on the verge of 19 and I have been playing the trumet for 2 months, I am currently not satisfied with my results, It´s as if I am in the dark. I really don´t have anyone to help me or give me advice. my largest problem is my embrochure. I tried to learn the zero pressure technique but it didn´t work out, I have to always moe my lips around while having them on the mouthpiece before blowing a tone correctly. It is also a large problem when I am trying to do lip slurs, I tried looking for pages on the internet to help me change my embrochure but I do not know where to look for good advice. Can someone point me in the right direction please? Sorry if it is little information on the way I play, if you need more to solve the problem then just ask. Thanks a lot guys.

2. chenzo

chenzo Piano User

Jul 18, 2008
    Aust
    Gidday Lefty
    You have stated that you have only playing for two monthes,
    this is not much time at all to be worried about your embrochure as you proberbly haven't got one.
    My best advice to you is to get a good teacher and lisern to what he or she may have to say. Practice every day and be patiant.

Cheers Chenzo.

ps move to the right a little:-)

3. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    Don't try to learn something like the no pressure technique without a teacher.
    The only way you will become very successful is if you get a teacher. Reading the internet will only lead you down the wrong path, because a lot of what we talk about can be pretty specific, and as someone with no experience, you lack the ability to weed out the important information from the other fluff.