Help Manny 10c to a 1c, and back again!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Rick Chartrand, Sep 28, 2005.

1. Rick Chartrand

Rick Chartrand Piano User

Nov 22, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Dear Manny

HELP :lol: I have a prolem and youre the most qualified to help me, not to mention a great teacher. I still remember how you described triple tounging to one guy. Very elegantly put, and it helped me too.

First my brief history.

Ive been playing for 15+ years. For the first 10 years I was content working with a Bach 7c. After 10 years I started to gravitate towards a more dark rich sound so over the past 5 years I went to a 5c, then a 3c, and last year a 1c. My lip fills my Bach 1c nicely and I get about
    2 1/2 hours of endurance playing constant.

Heres where it gets interesting Manny. About a year ago I started to play a lot of pro gigs and found I needed a heck of a lot more than a mere 2 1/2 hours of endurance, so a friend recomended a Holton Heim #2 (10c) mouthpiece, and I was in musical heaven to find that I could go as long as 4 hours on this mouthpiece! Since I've had this mouthpiece I have worked myself up to 5 hours or endurance which blows me away Manny.

During the week Sunday to Wednesday, I practise, teach the odd student privatly and just dont have the time to play for 5 hours a night. I have maybe 2 1/2 hours a night maximum because I want to spend the week with my wife and little girl. So I came up with the bright idea practise during the week with the Bach 1c for 2 1/2 hours and keep my lip in shape for the weekend. Because it seems to me as though I get the same physical workout and exastion from this as I would working with the Heim for 5 hours a night.