Help me arrrrrrrrrr!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Gordon001, Aug 31, 2010.

1. Gordon001

Gordon001 Guest

Hey guys its Gordon001 hear!

Ok where to start I have 2 big questions to ask about playing the trumpet it starts like this.

Ive been playing the trumpet for around 7 years or so, and im around grade 4. I didnt like my first trumpet teacher she wasnt very good she went and I got a new one. Ok here are my 2 questions or 3 or so, i dunno

Q1. I play the trumpet and when I separate a note I do it like with my throat. Are you ment to tongue the note like with you tongue, or like with your throat, it sounds horrible when i do it with my throut it goes "A A A A"

Q2 When I play I also get a very airy sound, like ffffffffffffffffffffffffff. Its note the trumpet its brand new how do I get ride of the fluffy airy sound???

Thanks guys really need this help. :play:

2. Gordon001

Gordon001 Guest

Hey thanks for reply but when I seperate notes I do it with my throat, but ive been trying to do it with my tongue but it sounds horrible, and it doesnt help that Im tongue tide which meens I have limmted movment in my tounge any tips on how to improve this?

3. Gordon001

Gordon001 Guest

Ok thanks man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    Try keeping the tip of your tongue behind your bottom teeth and stopping and starting the flow of air by raising the part about 1/2 inch behind the tip and touching it against the roof of your mouth just behind your top teeth. You can try this w/o the horn and mouthpiece, just by going tu tu tu tu while keeping that tongue tip anchored against the back of the bottom teeth. If you can pronounce those sylables by doing that then try it on the horn. This a a very minimal amount of tongue movement which you should be able to use.

5. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    ----
    You have to use your tongue to tongue. That's why they call it tonguing.