Help Me w/ Embrochure & Underbite

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by CLMS Trumpet Kid, Jul 6, 2012.

1. CLMS Trumpet Kid

CLMS Trumpet Kid New Friend

Dec 29, 2011
    Hello, I am a middle school student transitioning to high school. I have played on trumpet for 3 years now. I use a Bach Strad 37 with a Bach Megatone 3C mouthpiece and I have a little problem before with embrochure.

How to Form a Trumpet Embouchure - Trumpet Tips & Tricks with Charlie Porter - YouTube

Ok, so around 2 min to 5 min on the video he mentions the red part of the lip being soft and the white part (around the lips) being more resilient to the rim of the mouthpiece...so here is my problem:

1. My bottom lip is larger in proportion to my top lip. I place the rim of the mouthpiece on top of the red area on my bottom lip.
    2. The guy in the video has an overbite and I have an underbite. When I smile, my bite is classified as "edge to edge". The means my top teeth and bottom teeth meet at the same place, instead of the "normal" slight overbite over the bottom teeth.
    3. When I play, people say I use more top lip. I look in the mirror and my aperature is in the middle (atleast what I think).
    4. My range when I practice is up to high c (two ledger lines above staff) and on good days I can get up to the high e flat on the haydn concerto's first movement. But after I play, my top lip is fine, but my bottom lip is always chapped. I'm a teenager and as always, am stupid to try stupid things like trying to hit as high as I can without a warm-up and stuff, but I always rest and do warm-downs.

I just wanted to know your thoughts. Whether I should change embrochures or get a bigger mouthpiece (Nooooo!). I'm thinking about switching embrochures, since I can't buzz like normal people and is a testament to my flaw of technique. I can buzz in my mouthpiece when I set it in, but after I take it off and place it back on, without changing anything, I can't buzz the same.