Help on High Notes

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by celticnacho, Jul 3, 2011.

1. celticnacho

celticnacho New Friend

Jul 2, 2011
    Ohio
    Greetings I am new to this community.

I am a high school freshman trumpet player, and I have been playing since the fifth grade. I have a Yamaha YTR silver trumpet, and a Bach 7c mouthpiece.

I need help on how to maintain a consistent and clear sounds while playing high notes, I was doing some Arban exercises in the 20's, and my high notes just don't sound nice. I do clarke, arban, long tones, and slurs. The highest note I have reached on the trumpet is a double G, but I can never seem to play high notes consistently with a good sound. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks for reading.

2. ottoa57

ottoa57 Pianissimo User

Feb 15, 2010
    Macomb, Mi
    Hi Define double G is that 4 ledger lines above High C?? Do you have a private teacher?

3. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    What pieces do you play that require those notes?

I've recently been invited into a band to help "counteract" an idiot who continues to randomly
    ramp up some of the 1st chair parts a couple of octaves - yes he can do it, but it doesn't fit
    in a concert band genre and the band director is not getting through. My need is to help
    balance the section and it seems that the other players are gradually getting the message to
    this looney that his meanderings are so far out of the character of the piece that it is obvious
    even to him - it is certainly very annoying to the rest of the band. I repeat my initial question.

Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  4. ottoa57

ottoa57 Pianissimo User

Feb 15, 2010
    Macomb, Mi