Help Please.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by TrumpetsAreFun, Aug 28, 2005.

1. TrumpetsAreFun

TrumpetsAreFun Pianissimo User

Aug 28, 2005
    California
    Hi, I'm a new member here and I'm a Freshman in HS this year. This is going to be my third year of playing my trumpet :). I really want to get my higher notes but I find it kind of hard to get there. I have a Blessing Trumpet with a Blessing 7C mouthpiece. I can only play up to E, F, and sometimes with effort the G above the staff. I practice with my neighbor that is the same age as me... he has been playing for only 1 year of trumpet and he can play up to the high C above the staff. Can anyone give me any tips to help improve my embochure ,my endurance, and my range? Help would be much appreciated, thanks.

2. trumpetpimp

trumpetpimp Piano User

Dec 6, 2003
    Toronto
    It sounds like you're pretty keen and on the right track. Here's a few questions to ask yourself.

Do you have a teacher? Is is possible to get one? You may not even need a lesson every week if you don't want to or can't afford it. One evey 2-3 weeks sometimes works well for people(me included).

How often do you practice? If you're serious you should be playing at least 5-6 days a week for 45 minute to an hour(or more). As someone in college who plans to be a professional I practice virtually every day for 1.5-2 hours and try to go longer whenever possible. 3-4+ hours over the day when I can. I take a day off every few weeks only when I can't find time to practice because of conflicts, not by choice. In mid and late high school I practiced every day 60-90 minutes minimum.

Other thoughts. Your trumpet and mouthpiece may be fine and may need an upgrade but a teacher can help you decide this. Try not to change equipment for the sake of changing but don't be afraid to explore other equipment possibilities either.