HELP!!! Please!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by polkadottrumpet, May 8, 2009.

1. polkadottrumpet

polkadottrumpet New Friend

May 8, 2009
    California
    So I've been playing for about 4 years and I'm currently a junior and 1st chair at my schools symphonic band and top jazz. Anyway, I'm about to die because about 5 months ago I happened to switch mouthpicecs from a YAMAHA 11B4 to a E9.1 * shew 1.5 by J. marcinkiewicz.
    And stating from this morning jazz band I was unable to play anything above a medium E. and then I would be able to hit really high note like the E about that. But nothing inbetween. I 1st thought it was because I was tired but it would be the same after 5 hours. I'm really about to cry because I have to perform tomaro and I also have a concert coming up in a week. I would appriciate any help ASAP thanks!!!

should I switch back to my old one? do you think its just a stamina problem?

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    The mouthpiece has NOTHING to do with what is going on. 5 months is adequate time to acclimate. If you haven't had any grief in 5 months, the brass did not change overnight.

Something else happened. This dramatic would make me go to a doctor UNLESS there is something that you are not telling us......................

The day after beating your face up, something like this can happen. A nervous disorder can cause this. Blood pressure can mess us up. Allergies (there is some NASTY pollen blowing around). Medication like antihistamines can give us grief. Emotional problems can reek havoc.

So, YOU have to be the super sleuth. If you beat yourself up, then a day or 2 of minimal playing at very soft volume can help. Blood pressure can be handles by pills. The rest is up to the doc.

Do NOT switch back. You will merely compound the problem!