Help:suggest horns in price range

Discussion in 'Horns' started by Carolinacrown2014, Nov 15, 2016.

1. Carolinacrown2014

Carolinacrown2014 New Friend

Nov 15, 2016
    Ok so ive searched this forum and many others and cant really get a answer im looking for / suggestions

Sorry if in wrong area , will delete if need be

Anyways im a self taught trumpet player , 32 years old been playing for 15 years and havent had the money nor the crazy amount of money for a top of the line pro trumpet. Due to having a child recently and money is tight but able to put some money to the side here and there

My question is there any pro b flat trumpets that range from say $800 to $1000 ( us ) that you could possibly recommend please ?
    Preferably new horns... really anal about my equipment and not really into used gear

Here's a little about my playing style

I play in 2 community concert bands that play everything from classical , marches up to pop and jazz

I also play in a local jazz band and more or less a maynard tribute type band

Currently im on a jean baptise horn ( student horn ) and play on 2 different mouthpieces depending on the tunes

A bach 3c and yamaha bobby shew lead

My range consists of a double pedal c up to a double c

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Frank

2. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    Hi Frank - Carolinacrown2014,
    Welcome to TM.

I think you may be a better player than me, and I never ignore used gear, so most of mine is previously owned.

The only 2 horns I can suggest in your price range,
    1. Yamaha YTR4335
    YTR-4335G - Bb Trumpets - Trumpets - Brass/Woodwinds - Musical Instruments - Products - Yamaha United States

I have recently played a new one of these, and it really impressed me. Great Value for money.
    To me it outplayed the YTR5335...

Another, but not sure about price in USA - maybe just outside your range new.
    2. Getzen Capri