Help, what should I do?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Lullaby, Nov 10, 2011.

1. Lullaby

Lullaby New Friend

Sep 5, 2011
    Two years ago something happened where I couldn't play high and my tone disappeared with that. I had to start all over, I was in junior high and could play double G's. My freshman year I spent building back now and I'm finally good again and I'm now a sophomore. My range has improved dramatically I just got first chair in our school's top jazz band. We're practicing for chair tryouts for concert band (I'm in the top concert band, too) and jazz just started and I've been playing a lot. Yesterday I noticed I was having trouble with high notes for a bit, my lips felt tired even while I was warming up! I was having trouble going between registers but I could still hit the high notes. I can still hit them today and they're a little airy. I'm noticing some patterns and I hope this isn't history repeating. What should I do..?

2. PatMurphy

PatMurphy Pianissimo User

Aug 9, 2009
    Cherry Hill NJ
    GAD! Why is a cutie like you worrying about high Cs? Oh well! The usual questions, what mouthpiece are you using? Have you changed any equiptment? What is your
    practice/ playing routine each day? Not only how long daily but how long each session. When is the first session and what do you do to warm up?

3. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    That is weird, did you change mouthpieces? How about trumpets. What do you play on now?

4. mike ansberry

mike ansberry Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Clarksville, Tennessee, U
    How much do you practice/play? I went through a period of years in college when I was tearing my muscles down and not letting them recover. You can beat your chops to death.

5. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio