Help with a younger student?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by KTandCompany, May 5, 2013.

1. KTandCompany

KTandCompany New Friend

Apr 29, 2013
    Chillinois
    I'm new to teaching lessons since I'm only a senior in high school, but I just recently started teaching my first student. He's in fifth grade and from what I know was doing really well at the beginning of the school year, but slacked off a lot throughout the year and is now really behind.
    Anyway, he has a problem with not being able to get off the lower partial, and no matter what I tell him to do (more air, tighter embouchure, better posture) he will briefly hit the right notes and then slip back down the the lower partial. He's really motivated and wants to learn, but gets discouraged when he can't hit the higher notes. So it's not like he isn't trying.
    Any advice on how to get him to hit the higher notes (I'm talking F, G, A in the staff-- fifth grade) more consistently?

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    First of all, check the leadpipe. Is it clean? If so, the little guy hasn't been practicing. Let him sit there while you practice. (Not trying to be mean, but I've been fooled before.) If he has been practicing, have him do mouthpiece work. Make sure the lips aren't too far apart. If all else fails, stick him on baritone.

Last edited: May 8, 2013
  3. coolerdave

coolerdave Utimate User

Nov 7, 2009
    San Pedro
    Sometimes, playing really soft can help reduce the size of the apperature.
    Do you have any "fun" songs for your student to practice?

4. dangeorges

dangeorges Pianissimo User

Oct 20, 2010
    Just my two cents here, but here's what I might try:

1. Start him with some breathing exercises - Big Breath in and let the exhale come out naturally through just parted lips (that are saying "m")