Help with Haydn

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Edvard22, Nov 8, 2010.

1. Edvard22

Edvard22 New Friend

Jun 28, 2010
    Hi, i'm in highschool and i'm auditioning for the all-state band in a few weeks. The solo i have to prepare is the Haydn trumpet Concerto movements 1 and 2. Im having a lot of trouble with the range on this piece. Its frustrating because i know i can play every bit of that piece with no problem, but i just dont have the endurance to link it all together. I have been practicing steadily for two months on this piece, but the audition is in two weeks and I still can't play the whole piece in one shot.

Are there any tips (besides years of practice) that can help me with this piece? I'm desparate at this point. I've been practicing for at least an hour a day for the last month and i've had barely any improvement on my endurance.

If it makes any difference, i am currently using a bach 5c on a Getzen 900 (the new one).

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Desperate is not a good thing. It is proof that this is the wrong piece at the wrong time.

The mouthpiece is of no concern, neither is the horn.

Not getting through can be bad breathing, bad body use or no logical routine. That would explain an hour a day not helping. Actually, an hour a day is about one third of the amount of practicing that the serious players at your age invest.

The only real solution is to accept the fact that you will not solve this alone - and get help from an experienced player/teacher. It is not realistic to expect to turn anything around in a couple of weeks.

I can't believe that the Haydn is the only piece to try out for All-State. Maybe you need to investigate other options?

3. SteveRicks

SteveRicks Fortissimo User

Aug 15, 2009
    Alabama
    Tongue in cheek here -but it might work.