Help with tone?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by nchsbandrocks10, Oct 30, 2009.

1. nchsbandrocks10

nchsbandrocks10 New Friend

Feb 27, 2009
    Reno, NV
    I've been playing trumpet for almost 6 years and I've never really liked my tone. I don't really know how to work on it. Anyone have any suggestions or exercises I can do that will help? Thanks! :play:

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    Lots and lots of soft easy playing and long tones. Then use the sound that develops when you play everything else.

3. dhbailey

dhbailey Piano User

Jul 28, 2009
    New Hampshire
    And find a good local teacher to give you weekly guidance and can assess just why you're not happy with your tone. There are so many possible causes for a poor tone that it's impossible for people on a forum such as this to offer more than general suggestions such as Coomer's excellent suggestion which may or may not actually help you.

4. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    Here's something you might want to try.
    Play long tones and imagine (yes, imagine) the sound growing out from your body.
    You want to imagine the sound getting fat out from your body. Not loud but fat.

5. nordlandstrompet

nordlandstrompet Forte User

Apr 5, 2008
    Norway
    What kind of music do you normally play?

There is a big difference between "marching band" and "hymn" styles.

I'm asking this because it could be easier to give some relevant advice
    if we knew what style your present style is, and what kind of tone you actually want.

6. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY
    If you can,get some recordings of different trumpet players and pick the sound, tone, you most admire and try to imitate it.

7. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany