Help!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by AnnaMaureen9, Nov 13, 2006.

1. AnnaMaureen9

AnnaMaureen9 New Friend

Nov 13, 2006
    I'm a 16 year-old trumpet player in my high school band. Here's my story--I started playing the trumpet in 4th grade. I enjoyed it a lot but I got a little lazy with it, I barely ever practiced. My classmates seemed to develop their lips faster than me. Higher notes just never seemed to come. Until one day, I slide my mouthpiece down on my lips and a high note came out. Since then, I've been playing out of the top of my mouthpiece, using just my bottom lip. My range wasn't wonderful, but it was enough. I could play up to a high C on good days. However, I also had my bad days. My director noticed this and suggested that I begin to use both lips. I've been working on this for about a month now and I haven't seen much progress. My range is ridiculous and I pretty much have zero endurance, it's like I just started learning again. I've been buzzing on my mouthpiece and playing long tones to build my lips for hours daily, but it hasn't shown much worth yet. I'm trying to be patient, because I know it will be benificial in the long run, but it's very embarrassing and hard for me right now. I was just wondering if anyone knew of some technique or srategy that could help me keep my head above water while I'm undergoing this embouchure change, or will I be paying for my lazyness in elementary school forever?

2. trumpetnick

trumpetnick Fortissimo User

Nov 16, 2005
    Vidin, Bulgaria