Help!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by catwoman, May 16, 2009.

1. catwoman

catwoman New Friend

May 13, 2009
    Jersey Shore
    I am trying to make a comeback after 20 years of not playing. Just got my getzen 700 eterna today bach 7c mouthpiece and I am in awe of how bad I sound :( lol. Any tips on getting back into shape? Would it hurt to take a few lessons again or just wing it? I played for about 15 years before putting the horn down so I am no beginner but to hear me today I would definately say I need some advice from you vets on coming back...thanks:dontknow:

2. trumpetnick

trumpetnick Fortissimo User

Nov 16, 2005
    Vidin, Bulgaria
    Few lesson would not only not hurt, but can get you back on track...Well, your pride may get eventually hurt, but that's another story...

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    You played for 15 years, that means that quite a bit is still stored in your head (once you get your chops back, probably some of the old bad habits too).

My advice is to not try and go too fast. Long tones, slurs and LOTS of easy tunes (like out of the hymnbook). The firmer the foundation you lay down now, the more likely it is that you will not take ANOTHER 20 year break.

Lessons are desirable in any case. Living up to your teachers expectations is a great booster for motivation.

Keep us informed.

4. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    Rowuk gave you all the information you need to start your comeback.

5. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    If your 700 has been sitting around 15 years, it might be the horn.

Can you get a decent buzz out of the mouthpiece?
    If so, your chops are in order, if not...well it is the first day!