Help?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by LostTrumpetPlayer, Jun 29, 2015.

1. LostTrumpetPlayer

LostTrumpetPlayer New Friend

Jun 23, 2015
    I'm sure you guys probably get a million threads like this a day, but here it goes:

I have been playing trumpet for about 8 years, I'm about to go into my second year of college. Last year I played in college marching band/pep band and throughout the year my mouthpiece continuously slid off my lips and without realizing it my embouchure began to slide lower and lower until the point where I was mostly playing on the pink part of my upper lip and using most of my bottom lip to play. Part of my top lip would also stick out of the mouthpiece. That embouchure worked fine for a while I could play high and loud, although my tone quality suffered a bit, but I would have periods where my chops would completely suck and I wouldn't be able to play even an E on the staff.

Obviously, this isn't ideal, and I realized that I needed to fix this recently. But now, I can't remember where my natural placement used to before it started move lower, and with every position I try, I can barely get out any note above a C on the staff. To top that off, it seems like I can't even go back to the low placement a few days ago.

This is really frustrating and it feels like I can't even remember how to play trumpet, even though I work hard and practice every day.

Any advice to help me find my embouchure? I really need to get back into shape before band camp starts in August.

2. Dennis78

Dennis78 Fortissimo User

Feb 1, 2015
    Cincinnati
    Put the mouthpiece where you know it should be and realize you're kinda starting over. Just guessing but you'll probably get that C by the end of the day. Just sayin

3. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown