High C

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Lucas65653, Aug 10, 2015.

1. Lucas65653

Lucas65653 New Friend

Aug 2, 2015
    I have been playing the trumpet for about three years now and am entering high school at the end of the month. I didn't practice a ton on a regular basis at home but I was involved in several ensembles, our schools jazz band, and the normal band class at my middle school. I always found the assignments in our book very boring so the majority of my time would go towards practicing popular songs that I would find the sheet music to online. I played every improvised solo in our jazz band and every written solo in concert so those would add to my list of things to practice. Needless to say I practiced way less than I should have been. As I was progressing further and becoming more advanced technically I realized that my range had cut out at high A. (I was using too much pressure.) I found rowuk's threads on the subject and started following his daily routine recommendation and his circle of breath/ playing a scale from low c to high c without tounguing and very softly. I've been doing that for a week and a half and have noticed considerable improvement in my tone, control, and range. I can now play up to a high c and everything in between feels much much easier to play. The question that I have is when I play my high c it sounds very unsupported and hard to control. How do I get a more powerful/ controlled high c? I know that it would be best to get a tutor and I am looking into that but I wanted to get some different opinions and see what other people thought?

EDIT: I can play a soft high C and have it sound good and get it to about a mp without losing control and can play a high d very very softly.

Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  2. richtom

richtom Forte User

Dec 7, 2003
    The answer is short and sweet.
    You practice. You rest a bit, then you practice some more.

Rich T.

3. Lucas65653

Lucas65653 New Friend

Aug 2, 2015