High debts end the music for some students.

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by PhatmonB6, Nov 29, 2005.

1. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    Music isn't the only course of study that costs a TON of debt to get through. It is, however, one of the ones with a lower chance of actually being able to acquire a job decent enough to allow paying off those debts.

Woe the culture that doesn't value education enough to support it.

2. Jimi Michiel

Jimi Michiel Forte User

Mar 22, 2005
    Boston
    That picture is ironic. I have a very big debt because I got a degree from the New Egland Conservatory. I would have much less debt if the school didn't spend such an insane amount of money on their string faculty. Sure, Don Weilerstein is a great musician from one of the best string quartets of the 20th century, but all the wind players at school resented his huge salary at the expense of our scholarships. ARGH.
    -Jimi

PS Anybody need to hire a trumpet player in the Twin Cities? PM me.

3. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    I definitely don't support the idea of government doing more than it already does.

All it will succeed in doing is what has already happened: tuition costs rising disproportionate to the inflation rate.

http://www.finaid.org/savings/tuition-inflation.phtml

I think low-cost student loans are great. I think private scholarships are great. I think foundations for scholarships are wonderful. I give to my alumni fund for that very reason. The problems of education, musical or otherwise are attitudinal and cultural not financial. The problems of education are largely based in the lack of support from parents who send kids to school and hold teachers responsible for 100% of the education of their children and won't follow up what their children are taught. "That's the teacher's job, not mine" is a lousy attitude and doesn't help our teachers.