High School student looking for aid.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by AamirH, Oct 7, 2007.

1. AamirH

AamirH New Friend

Oct 7, 2007
    Hello everyone,

Let me start by introducing myself. My name is Aamir and I am in my last year of high school. I've been playing the trumpet in school since grade 6, and decided I want to continue with it after school. I have not bought a trumpet yet and will start my private lessons next week, so I am a bit behind.

1. What I am looking for is just the basics. Stuff that I need to know. What I am also looking for is some trumpeteers to listen to for some influence, so if you could, it would be convinient to drop a few names. My audition for university is only in about 4 - 7 months (depending on university), and I want to start practicing my audition pieces.

2. I want to have two contrasting pieces, so I want to learn a suitable classical piece and a jazz piece for the trumpet. Can anyone recommend any suitable pieces? I figure Haydn is way to hard for me right now, but I haven't even looked at it yet.

3. My gear is just a trumpet that I am renting from my school. Its costing me $75 for the whole year, which is nice and lets me save up when I am ready to buy my own trumpet (which I also need help deciding). I will find out the specific models on the trumpet. My mouth piece is a piece of scrap from grade 8 or so, and I was wondering what kind of mouth piece I should go for (since mine really needs a change) and what the price range would be on it.