Higher range easier/harder on cornet/flugelhorn?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by GuyMcPerson, Feb 10, 2013.

1. GuyMcPerson

GuyMcPerson New Friend

Dec 29, 2008
    Hi all, so I recently rekindled my love for trumpet after too long of a break. I had previously played for about half a year and had a range from the lowest f# that wasn't a pedal tone (though i could do a few) to the first G above the staff. Well, I also play a few other instruments (sax, piano, guitar, etc.) that I was preoccupied with and hadn't played trumpet in like.. 3-4 months.

I went to a buddy's birthday party, and of course a lot of my friends are musicians. Another friend had this old cornet of his that I was jamming on when not playing guitar. Now on my trumpet, I had never really been able to consistently get over that G limit i talked about. When I started playing this guy's cornet, after warming up I was easily and consistently able to get to the C above that, and the whole upper register felt easy to get to, even after quite a bit of jamming.

Now I haven't tested another trumpet yet to find out if maybe there's something making it difficult about mine. I've always had a strong stance on "don't blame the instrument" and that you should always work to overcome things like weak technique or bad tone by practicing and getting better on what you have, then getting a new one so you have 'no excuse'. But this standpoint comes from someone who plays instruments like guitar/piano primarily who are a lot easier to understand in functionality, and there's no "range building" you have to do on that since you have access to the whole range from minute 1.

I digress, do you guys think that certain ranges are easier on the trumpet 'family' (by that I mean cornets/flugelhorns/instruments that are essentially the same and not just from the brass family) and do you experienced trumpet players find that there ARE issues with instruments when it comes to developing range?

2. gmonady