Holton vs Reynolds cornet: easy vs hard

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by DiaxII, Apr 11, 2012.

1. DiaxII

DiaxII Pianissimo User

Oct 22, 2009
    E.Europe
    I'm an amateur player and I don't practice regularly, only when I have enough time. I manage to practice several times a week. I have two student horns: a Holton cornet made by Yamaha and an older Reynolds Medalist cornet. Both seem to be in perfect working order with good compression.
    One is at the place I live(Reynolds) and another (Holton) at a different place that I visit from time to time.

I notice a significant difference between how two horns affect my endurance. Reynolds feels very free blowing and tiers me up pretty quickly. Holton (Yamaha) on the other hand gives me some nice resistance and feels 'easy blowing' because of that. I can play it much longer and by the end of the practice session I can still -play- notes whereas with Reynolds by the middle of the practice session I can only -squeeze out- notes.

Any idea why that may happen?

2. Dale Proctor

Dale Proctor Utimate User

Jul 20, 2006
    Heart of Dixie
    Could just be different design parameters between the horns, or the one that tires you could have some mechanical problem, such as a leak or mis-aligned valve ports. Sometimes when you play multiple horns on the same mouthpiece, the mouthpiece may be more suited to one horn than the other(s). Stuffy horns can be opened up with a more open mouthpiece, and too-open horns can have a little more resistance with a tighter mouthpiece. Just some general observations here, but maybe they will get you thinking.

3. study888

study888 Mezzo Forte User

Aug 22, 2005
    Darlington S.C.
    Hello,the Reynolds may have a truer Cornet bore size of .468 and the Holton could be a smaller bore size of say .459. Along with the other variables mentioned by Dale.