Horn Feedback

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Rocketman, Sep 16, 2009.

1. Rocketman

Rocketman New Friend

May 11, 2004
    NC
    The importance of horn feedback (how much you hear behind the bell) has become increasingly obvious to me. This has resulted from extensive playing in a heavily sound proofed studio. The room is so dead, in fact, that sound is immediately absorbed. As a result, playing in this room requires much more effort than normal. In experimenting to see what could be done to make the experience more pleasant, I started playing through a system with a digital sound processor and headphones for better feedback. With this setup, a little reverb can be added back in to make the sound less "dry" and obviously, the feedback is greatly increased. The surprise has to do with just how much less effort is required to play. Technically, I suppose this is related to sound reinforcement of the pressure waves being produced in the horn. The other thing I believe this illustrates is the importance of a horns ability to provide feedback to the player. Much attention has been given to the projection quality of a horn but this points out the much overlooked feedback quality, at least, this appears to be the case for me. Just an interesting observation...Ken B.

2. ChaseFan

ChaseFan Banned

Mar 25, 2008
    The room is sound-proofed to prevent sound from leaving the room.
    That same sound-proofing is preventing your sound from bouncing back at you?
    That would indicate that the sound-proofing is exposed on the walls rather than inside the walls?
    If you put a 4 foot by 8 foot piece of paneling on one wall and play facing that wall, you will receive significant feedback from your instrument's sound bouncing off that one wall.
    Put paneling on all 4 walls and you will probably deafen yourself as I did when attempting a Double High C in the bathroom with the door closed :shock:

Dean

3. Rocketman

Rocketman New Friend

May 11, 2004
    NC