Horrendous Embouchure....

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mrhello, Apr 16, 2010.

1. mrhello

mrhello New Friend

Apr 16, 2010
    You know those high music school kids that play trumpet terribly and don't really care?

Hi, I'm one of them, and I used to kind of not care, so I really have no impression on what I've been doing with my lips for the last 4 years.

But now... I do know that I have this awkward embouchure so pitifully wrong and bad, that I can't find anything even close to it on google.

My bottom lip is basically OUT of the mouthpiece. Someone asked me how my lips even vibrate. Apparently, like 1/8 of my bottom lip is actually still stuck inside the mouthpiece, which vibrates with my top lip. And the top lip is halfway in the mouthpiece. It looks disgustingly weird. Produces very bad playing results.... sometimes good sometimes bad + horrible endurance.

The really bad thing is that I have problems getting into a proper Farkas embouchure. I've tried to completely relax, assume an M-shaped embouchure, buzzed and put the mouthpiece on (1/2 top 1/2 bottom) I can play a really nasty sounding low C, maybe a low G............ Any higher and it sounds as if I'm either not blowing air through the mouthpiece or that my lips simply stop vibrating. Yes I'm relaxed, yes I tried pivoting up and down, tried adjusting up and down, left and right, not pinching, not squeezing, tried from no pressure to lots of pressure. I'm sure a 6 year old who has never seen a trumpet can start playing a simple scale (which I seem to not be able to) after being taught how to properly set up an embouchure?

I know you can't really help me, but has anybody got any experience with seeing some pitiful person with similar lips?

(And I've had braces, I've a slight overbite, my lips are slightly on thicker side..... I dont think thats affecting anything?)

Last edited: Apr 16, 2010
  2. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User