how about them high notes?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by FavoriteThings, Jan 23, 2009.

1. FavoriteThings

FavoriteThings New Friend

Aug 13, 2008
    Hello there trumpet players.

I'm a new poster to the board, but have been lurking the board for a few months. I just got a trumpet about a month and a half ago and am learning without a teacher. I self taught myself guitar and piano so i think i could do an okay job with this instrument. i play between half an hour to an hour a day.
    My question is pertaining the high notes. i notice that when i get up to the C in the middle of the staff i have to press the mouthpiece tighter to my mouth, is this normal or am i supposed to have such control over my lips that making i shouldnt be pushing the horn closer to my lips.

If its of any help, i play a ytr 232 with a 7c mouthpiece ( pretty standard set up)

2. Wlfgng

Wlfgng Piano User

Aug 15, 2008
    Canada
    First off: Wlecome to the Forum!

2nd: The trumpet is not an istrument that can be "self taught" like a guitar or piano. There is to much going on all at once during playing, things you may be aware of and things you probablby are not. Find a teacher to help you get started and before you develop any bad habits.

Bad trumpet habits die hard.

3rd: Higher notes - see #2.

If you are serious about playing music, learn theory as well. It can be a PITA but once you start to understand it, it will open doors to you playing you never would have thought of.

3. Darthsunshine

Darthsunshine Mezzo Forte User

Jul 19, 2008
    Seattle, WA
    Playing trumpet is about a lot more than playing notes. The advice to get a private teacher is good advice, since no one here will be able to answer your question without seeing what you're doing.

4. simonstl

simonstl Pianissimo User

Nov 25, 2008
    Dryden/Ithaca, NY