How can I make my sound more open.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Mrwags28, Sep 8, 2014.

1. Mrwags28

Mrwags28 New Friend

Sep 6, 2014
    How can I make my trumpet sound more open? When I play, my teacher says it's like my lips are holding onto the sound and to not do that anymore. It's not that simple. I've been playing the same way for 9 years and when I play it doesn't sound like the beautiful trumpet sound you'd expect. I play very well. But I need help.

2. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    Can't your teacher show you? You've sounded un-beautiful for 9 years??? I get that this is the generation of one liners and texting, but way more info is needed. Horn clean? Mpc a tight or open backbore? Mpc throat size? That's just the equipment that might contribute to a closed or open sound. Then the physical aspect would need to be addressed. THAT is a barrel of worms.

3. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire
    How long have you been with your current teacher,

What do you practice,
    How do you practice,
    For how long,

What style of music do you like,
    What equipment do you use (sorry Toby)
    Are you Tense when playing

4. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Welcome to TM, Mrwags28!

Does your teacher have anything to say about your basic embouchure set? How is your dynamic range? Can you play really, really softly and really, really loudly?

5. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    SEE!!!! Worms falling all over the place!!! :D

Oh yeah , forgot!:welcome::welcome::welcome::wave::wave::wave::laughwave::laughwave:

6. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    The best way to get "tone" is to play with people that have it. Duets, ensemble playing. Turn the brain off and the ears on. Find a sparring partner!

7. Mrwags28

Mrwags28 New Friend

Sep 6, 2014