How do I play before 9pm?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by thecruxofthebiscuit, Feb 21, 2015.

1. thecruxofthebiscuit

thecruxofthebiscuit New Friend

Nov 26, 2014
    Hi there,

I've been playing for about 2 months now, and I'm reasonably happy with my progress. My sound is really coming along, and, on a good day, I have a clean, loud high c, although I'm not comfortable playing actual music up there.

What I feel has really been setting me back, though, is my inability to play at reasonable hours. It seems that I can only play at my best after about 9:00pm, although the later, the better. My lips just don't function properly before then. My notes are less well defined, and my lower and upper range are inconsistent. I'm cautious about eating salty foods before bed, and I drink plenty of water alas, to no avail.

Because of my temperamental chops, I only really practice at these times, as it's much more enjoyable, and I feel like I'm actually making progress. My private lessons are always before noon, and I really struggle to play anything like I do in the evening.

My teacher had warned against the psychological block that I'm developing against morning practice, but it really does feel physical: my lips simply to dry and awkward before the evening.

I know that it's something that improves with time, but is there any advice for a beginning player who wants to develop some consistency?

2. Ufachotchin

Ufachotchin Pianissimo User

May 19, 2014
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    I have the same problems. I, too, have morning lessons and often find it difficult to play at that time. Avoiding salt and staying hydrated is good. Keep up with that. Also, use a good moisturizer (carmax is always good and there's a brand for musicians called "chopsaver"). But what I have found most effective is a good, long warmup consisting of lipslurs, long tones, and pedal tones. You can even try buzzing en route to the lesson to start the blood flowing.
    Best of Luck,