How I am getting on with my new B1

Discussion in 'Horns' started by Graham Altham-Lewis, Mar 3, 2004.

1. Graham Altham-Lewis

Graham Altham-Lewis New Friend

Feb 1, 2004
    Hi all,

I have recieved good advice from many of you over the last few months and I got my new Schilke B1 a few weeks ago so I thought I would let you know how I am getting on with it. For some background I am a Maths teacher in a British school in Dubai, but also teach trumpet to a few students and help run the school Jazz band.

I was playing a Yamaha 6335HS2 and my mouthpiece is a GR 3M. I am really pleased with the Schilke. It has a wonderful tone, it is transparent and neutral with lovely warm overtones compared to my Yamaha. The Yamaha has a brighter more focussed sound (still good but I much prefer the B1 - why I bought it!).

My lower register is much more controlled and my upper register is better although occasionally I slot the notes wrong but I am guessing I just need a bit more time to adjust to the new instrument. Lip flexibilities/Clarkes Technical studies are much clearer for me as well which is very pleasing. I know that the player makes the biggest difference but there is a difference in pro horns and how well you play on different models.

The valves on the Schilke are superb and I am very impressed with the fit and finish - very good quality. To me the Schilke B1 has that wonderful feeling when you play it - the "Wow" factor! - when you go fo it the whole thing vibrates in your hand but the sound doesn't break up - its excellent.

The GR 3M seems to be a really good match as its quite a focussed mouthpiece so balances the step bore and larger flared bell well so the sound is not too diffuse. What mouthpieces have you all found to work well?

So thank you for all your great posts and...
    ..what made you all buy Schilkes and what improvements did you notice over your old instrument?

By the way has anyone played Martinu's Sonatine - its a great piece of music!