How often?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by That One guy, Dec 11, 2007.

1. That One guy

That One guy New Friend

Dec 11, 2007
    Ummm.... lemme' think...
    Hey hey!
    I am a Sophomore in High School, 1st chair, lead jazz trumpet, fun stuff. I am currently playing on a Blessing ML-1.
    And now my question...
    How often should I practice?
    I usually practice for one hour/day on 4 days of the week. This seems to work so far, but should I be doing more?
    I do not plan on taking my trumpet playing past High School at the moment, but I suppose I'm still undecided.
    Given those circumstances, how much more should I practice?

Thanks

That One guy

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    T.O.g.
    An hour a day is basic training, with 2 hours per day you can "specialize" in something and with 3 hours you can get really good!
    Do not forget that I am talking about serious practice and not just farting around for 3 hours.
    1/3 chops, 1/3 technique, 1/3 serious music.

3. That One guy

That One guy New Friend

Dec 11, 2007
    Ummm.... lemme' think...
    Thanks!
    I'll probably try to kick it up to two hours.
    Is four days a week good, though?

4. mrmusicnotes

mrmusicnotes Piano User

Nov 11, 2007
    N.Y.C.
    practicing everyday is the best way to go_One hour a day is better than 2hours 4 days a week. good luck

5. confuoco

confuoco Pianissimo User

Nov 11, 2007
    You have to answer that qustion for youself.

Are you physically or mentally tired?

Did you play a lot at school that day?

Many variables but one thing is for sure. Consistent daily practice is the key to improvement

6. j4k8

j4k8 New Friend

Oct 7, 2007
    the band stand
    practice as much as you can everyday
    youll see a difference in your playing
    but if your lips hurt or something-take a break!

7. Patric_Bernard

Patric_Bernard Forte User

Oct 25, 2007
    California