How on earth did they do it??

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by motteatoj, Jan 27, 2014.

1. motteatoj

motteatoj Mezzo Forte User

Feb 23, 2013
    Tuckahoe, NY
    When i read a lot of the the minutia that is debated on TM, I often ask myself......

How did all the great, semi-great, professional/non-professionals manage to play well?
    Don't get me wrong, I am an engineer & research scientist, and I get very interested and caught up in it all as well, but really......some of this stuff just doesn't matter.....

Discuss...

2. Lionelsax

Lionelsax Mezzo Piano User

May 8, 2013
    Good musicians, acceptable sound or nice sound, the rhythm is more important than everything, "playing square", good microphones, good equalization, some reverb when it's a bit out of tune.
    Rhythm is the most important, playing a bad note in rhythm with the right articulation is better than playing a good note out of rhythm.

3. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    They all have this in common: They play a lot. I am a real fan of the 10,000 times rule. Anybody that does anything 10,000 times has got to be a pro.

I too am a chemist, a PhD chemist. I never ran 10,000 reactions so even with a PhD, I feel mediocre as a chemist at best.
    I am a physician, and doubt I have not come close to seeing 10,000 patients, so indeed, I still practice, until I get it right.
    As a musician, I have been playing since age 7. I have played nearly every day of my life, and with my 50+ years of playing trumpet, I calculate out to 18,250 times that I have played, and I do feel very accomplished as a musician.

So after a PhD in chemistry, MD in medicine, and only minoring in music as an undergrad, reflecting on this post for me truly validates that 10,000 time rule. Thanks for thinking up such a wonderful post. I now feel validated.

4. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio