How to begin playing for money?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by RyanM11, Jul 3, 2011.

1. RyanM11

RyanM11 New Friend

Mar 31, 2011
    Houston, Texas
    Hello! I'm Ryan, a soon to be senior in high school. I would like to know how a young trumpet player like myself would start playing professional (for money). I have been playing trumpet for going on 7 years and I would like to start bringing in some money to buy more equipment and pay for various things that all kids people my age need.

Any and all help and tips are much appreciated!
    Thanks!

2. Brad-K

Brad-K Piano User

Jun 18, 2011
    1. Find street corner or subway station.

2. Play your trumpet.

3. Have your case open.

....Sorry.....that's all I've got.

...Well...not really.....

Look for ads/place ads in Craigslist/Recycler for bands who want players, or think about going into the wedding reception industry...look for local theaters/clubs who book small time people like us...develop a solo act, or a small ensemble. Even if you have to start really small, and play for free for a while....do small time recording sessions...get involved with a community college program--good place to get your mojo goin', and to make contacts. ...oh, and don't forget churches. ....record and sell your own recordings.

Viola...You're an entertainer. It may not make a lot, but it's a start.

Remember to market yourself, make business cards, get some pro photos done, write a bio, do a website/internet thing. Keep track of your money like you're a business...you are a business. Study/read up on the music business so you don't get ripped off as much (you WILL end up getting ripped off, everyone does). Think about getting a manager....etc. Keep yourself in shape and keep your appearance professional....etc.

Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  3. Ichierzen

Ichierzen Pianissimo User

Sep 22, 2007