How to make a career from music

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet Playa, Nov 9, 2010.

1. Trumpet Playa

Trumpet Playa New Friend

Aug 4, 2010
    I practice 4 hours a day minimum. Winter break and summer break I plan on going for 6 or more. There are just so many fundamentals to be covered that I find it necessary. I research about this stuff all the time in my free time and schedule my practice sessions with much detail in a journal. My professor told me I have a great understanding of this stuff and have a lot of potential. I figured, well I’m 18, within 4 years if I keep up my hard work I could go somewhere with this. I just love playing trumpet, learning how to get better, and like teaching how to do things on trumpet to other people when my peers ask me. I can’t imagine loving another job as much as something music related.

I’m a freshman in college now and wondering about the possible ways I can make a career out of playing and teaching. How does one become a professor anyways? I would love to be a trumpet professor some day. I enjoy history very much too and teaching music history would be awesome. I do plan on attending a conservatory for grad school so I’m practicing a ton now and doing well in all my music classes (I’m a music major btw). But not sure of the possibilities after that.

I would be practicing right now, but I just feel so frickin sick. Something I ate, I know it.

I know some people in the music field hold numerous jobs to make ends meet. I just need to understand the job prospects and what I could do to make a living from teaching and playing.

2. ecarroll

ecarroll Artist in Residence Staff Member

Jul 13, 2005
    NY/CA
    TP,

In a serious school? By having a career as a performer.

Best wishes,
    EC

3. Alex_C

Alex_C Piano User

May 30, 2010
    Gilroy, California
    Playa you will make it if you never give up.

I got to a high position in a sport by keeping on keeping on.