how to play highnotes?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by jimt123, Oct 3, 2009.

1. jimt123

jimt123 New Friend

Jun 16, 2009
    I know that every trumpet player high (sarcasm of course). Does anyone have any advice for how to play high? I am relatively new to the trumpet but i multiple second parts to songs that go up to a's b's and one c above the staff. Can anyone give me any excercises or something to raise my range? any help is greatly appreciated

Thank you

2. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

Practice - only way.
    Practicing softly can help, especially playing softly and (most importantly) with the right sound. Your sound, the same one you play with everywhere else.
    and oh,
    practice :-)

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Put the mouthpiece onto your over the decades trained lips in the right way, inhale using proper breathing techniques built up over many years and BLOW.

Instant High Notes.

If you don't have good range, you haven't been practicing the right things long enough.

The exercizes for greater range are the same as the ones for making better music. They can be found on every page of Arban, Clarke, Schossberg, Irons, St. Jacome and just about any other decent method book.

I am not making fun of you. Getting high notes is stupid if you haven't built range musically. There is nothing more annoying than a player with high notes and no brains to find a way to use them intelligently.

4. mlrenick

mlrenick Pianissimo User

Sep 20, 2009
    Ft. Myers, Florida
    I'm practicing slurring techniques and it seems to be helping. The Arbans book is great but another book that might help for beginners is called Twenty-Seven Groups of exercises for cornet and trumpet by Earl Irons. Its helping me build my range like Rowuk said and I noticed it is helping me with the high notes too. I also heard playing low notes helps with high notes.

5. Outkastah

Outkastah Pianissimo User

Aug 29, 2009
    Boston