How to record my practice sessions?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ComeBackKid, Sep 27, 2009.

1. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I have reached the point that I need to record my practice sessions and I am almost to the point that I am willing to listen once I have recorded them. The problem is that I need better equipment to do that and I am not an expert in sound recording techniques or equipment. I have done a Google search and also searched several audio forums to try and find this information. I searched here on TM and found some tantalizing hints. So, in general I find bits and pieces in different places but not one that is a comprehensive tutorial for beginners that answers my questions in a broad context. I am asking here because my goal is to record trumpet music ;-) and, maybe later, do other things like play MP3 recordings through my computer speakers, etc. and I know that there are some knowledgeable members here. To start, here are my assumptions and the questions that derive from them:
    (1) I understand that I need a good quality microphone but I do not know the difference between condenser, dynamic, or other design features that are related to home recording of music. (Note: I realize that the environment plays a factor - I have a room with reasonably good acoustics where I can close out maybe 80% of the ambient noise. Which type would be best in this case?)
    (2) I realize that a microphone is analog and somewhere between the microphone and the recorded file, there needs to be an A-D converter and that all computers have an A-D converter already installed in the form of a sound card or at least a sound chip on the MOBO.