How To Spend My 5 Hours Of Practice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Passion, Jun 11, 2009.

1. Passion

Passion Pianissimo User

Jun 11, 2009
    I dont wanna mess around for 5 hours everyday so please give me a great routine to spend my time.

And should I practice 1 hour, then break, then another hour, break, and another hour? Is that a good idea?

Practicing 2 hours straight sure is tiring.

And I hate do the warmups with the slurs. Can I do it for just 30 minutes a day and be over with it. Or do I have to do it everytime I play.

2. BennyBGoode

BennyBGoode New Friend

Jun 11, 2009
    Hey, newbie here but feel like I have to help you :)

I would say that first you need to put in order all the things you have for practicing. Scales, playing, exercises, methods, etc.

Then, I suggest you that you start with 1 hour per day for a week or two. You feel that that's not enough time? Ok, move up to 2 hours, but feel that's not enough for you not think it.

That's how you get to get in love with practice, 5 hours is a lot of time to start with. Although you need to practice 5 hours to be the better. But, Carl Lewis was the best athlete, did he started doing the 100 mts. in just 10 seconds?. No, he needed to trace a logical training sequence to reach its peak, and so do you. You'll probably get bored and start to mess around if you practice that much time. Make of your practice time quality time.

Hope that I'm not sounding too bossy to you, not my intention. Just try to give the best advice that I cant think of.

Regards

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Passion,
    5 hours a day is tough to fill with concentrated practice, especially if you are not unemployed.
    If you hate "basic" things like slurs, you can hang up the trumpet. Patience, thoroughness and dedication to detail are what become required when "good enough" no longer is in your vocabulary.