How to use the books

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by The Dutch Guy, Apr 14, 2015.

1. The Dutch Guy

The Dutch Guy Piano User

Sep 22, 2008
    Netherlands
    Hi all,

It's been a while since my last post here, but I have come back for advise once again :-).

I've been playing for about 15 years or so, and consider myself a decent amateur player. A few years back I bought some trumpet books to study from, but I never really got started with them, mostly because I didn't know how to use them and where to start. I got the Schlossberg, two Clarke books , Collins and Arban (perhaps more, can't remember).

Recently I got the opportunity to play first trumpet in a '1st devision' orchestra in the Netherlands. That would be the second highest rating an orchestra can have, after concert division (which is mostly professionals). Needless to say, I'm quite honored to be asked to play there, and want to improve my playing to make sure that I can keep the spot and not dissapoint them :-).

So is there anyone that can suggest a way of using those books? What I'm looking for is something like: first do warmup, then do 5 exercises of this chapter of that book, then do 10 exercises of that book. On uneven days, do this book instead... bla bla bla. You get my point.

What I want to achieve is just get better all-round. So improve the comfortable range a bit, improve the technique, endurance, and while I'm at it, tone as well.

I have a full time job, and 2 rehearsal nights (thu and fri), with wednesday becoming the 3rd with the new band. That means monday and tuesday evening and the weekend are free to practice.

sooooo... anyone willing to give me some advice on a training schedule?

2. rettepnoj

rettepnoj Fortissimo User

Feb 22, 2009
    Norway
    You should take a lesson and let the teacher select some exercises for you. I can easily recommend a skype lesson with Adam Rapa. Well worth 75 EUR :-)

3. The Dutch Guy

The Dutch Guy Piano User

Sep 22, 2008