How/why did you start playing trumpet?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by [email protected], Jan 23, 2009.

1. GoodMusic@PA

[email protected] Piano User

Aug 7, 2008
    Hello,
    I was just wondering how everyone started to play trumpet, and why or who inspired you, and what kind of horn you started on.

ps(im sorry if there already is a post like this:dontknow:)

2. lmf

lmf Forte User

May 16, 2007
    Indiana USA
    I was a tough kid from a tough neighborhood. Band music probably help save my life, point me to the Lord who did the rest hand put me on the "straight and narrow" pathway. One doesn't have to smoke, drink and drug to have a good time and the kids in my neighborhood did their share.

I started playing in a Salvation Army band in the cornet section. Yes, I actually played a cornet and I learned the spiritual philosophy of The Salvation Army and the reason for playing brass instruments in its bands. This has has been with me throughout my life since. Thus, my signature is my testimony as well as a sign-off.

Best wishes,

Lloyd

Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  3. Pakatak

Pakatak New Friend

I was inspired to play trumpet by my boy scout troop's bugler, because I wanted to be bugler someday. Started in the basic 6th grade band on a not-so-great rental horn, but by 7th grade I bought an intermediate level Gerhard Baier. I still use it for pep band and marching band because it has a nice, cutting sound (and if I trip and fall it's also not my main horn being munched).

Also, I think this might belong better in the Trumpet Discussion forum.

4. Dave Mickley

Dave Mickley Forte User

Nov 11, 2005
    Indianapolis