How/why did you start playing trumpet?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by [email protected], Jan 23, 2009.

1. GoodMusic@PA

[email protected] Piano User

Aug 7, 2008
    Hello,
    I was just wondering how everyone started to play trumpet, and why or who inspired you, and what kind of horn you started on.
    :play:

2. guitarsrmine

guitarsrmine Piano User

Dec 29, 2008
    Franklin, Pa
    I grew up in the '60's,which Herb Alpert and the TJB ruled!! My parents had a slew of their albums, and after listening to them, I said"Thats what I want to play-trumpet" and havent looked back(except the 25 years I played guitar and didnt touch my trumpet):play:

3. guitarsrmine

guitarsrmine Piano User

Dec 29, 2008
    Franklin, Pa
    Forgot this- I started on a brand new,B flat Olds Ambassador,40 years old this year(Yes, I still have it)

4. piccolomaster

piccolomaster Pianissimo User

Jan 23, 2008
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    I started playing trumpet at the age of 12 wanting to play in a concert band. Go figure. My biggest influence at the time was Al Hirt and Louis Armstrong. The first trumpet I played was the Getzen 300 series trumpet.

5. M Baker

M Baker New Friend

Jan 15, 2014
    Seattle
    No idea! That was back in 1968.
    Perhaps the band director thought, "There is a loud/outspoken young boy that takes good care of his property, is conscientous and creative, likes to be the center of attention, and is pretty accomplished on his Conn song flute. We'll start him on trumpet and see how that works out."
    No one ever asked me to play a different instrument (like French horn or baritone), ever. So it must have been a good fit.
    I still have that 1967 Conn song flute and my 1967 Hot Wheels.

6. odd67ar

odd67ar Pianissimo User

Apr 30, 2010
    Oslo, Norway
    I started back in 1948 As a little boy I loved Louis Armstrong and Harry James,
    and I still do. My first trumpet was a Cuesnon.

7. Maxtrpt

Maxtrpt New Friend

Jan 14, 2014